MEWD: Hard Days

Emma Foster - ASK Blog PicSome days are just harder than others.

Some days I’m fine. I can get out of bed, get dressed, leave the house, do the things I need to do, and that’s great.

Other days are a struggle.

Sometimes getting out of bed seems like the greatest challenge in the world, and even if I wanted to get up and try to be productive, it’s like my whole body is just refusing to let me do the thing. Having to actually get dressed in real person clothes, and drive, and talk to people… some days it’s full on impossible.

I live on the same block of land as my mother-in-law and my step-father-in-law. Their house is less than one hundred metres from ours, and yet I can go for weeks not seeing them if I’m feeling horrible enough.

I don’t have a solution to these days. I don’t really have any tips, or tricks, or ways to handle this.

Emma7

I tend to just bunker down for the day. Hide under a duvet with my dog and an endless supply of hot drinks and wait for the Bad Thing’s hold on me to lessen.

And it always does. The length of its stay varies, sometimes it’s only around for an hour. Sometimes a week. But there’s always a light at the end of the tunnel. Or at the edge of the duvet. No matter how horrible I’m feeling or how deep in the depths of my duvet I’m buried, the Bad Thing always retreats somewhat.

Knowing it will pass doesn’t necessarily make it any easier to deal with when I’m at my lowest. It doesn’t necessarily make it any easier on my family who have to see me at my lowest.

But it does get better.

Emma8-Emma

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *