MEWD: People Do Care

Emma Foster - ASK Blog PicSecond semester last year is when my depression started to really, seriously, and truly affect my studies. I could not tell you how many of my lectures and tutorials I attended that semester, but I can almost guarantee you that it was less than 40%. In all reality, it was probably more like 20–30%. This was a big deal for someone who only missed eight classes in total through first year.

So there I was, almost halfway through semester. Depression had already caused me to miss one assignment due date (an in class test) and it was about to make me miss the same thing for another unit. Cue one of my past tutors (who had since become a good friend) encouraging me to go and have a chat to my school’s undergraduate program coordinator (I’m in the Business faculty, and that person is Dr Helen Weadon).

This was not something I had considered before. I wasn’t talking to anyone at Uni about my struggles, because I didn’t want anyone to think I was less capable, or worse, that people would just think I was being a drama queen. This is not at all what happened though.

When I finally took the plunge and opened up about what was going on and how I was falling so far behind, I was met with nothing but compassion and understanding by university staff.

Everyone I ended up talking to about my strugglings over the next few weeks was amazing, from Helen, to the ladies in student advisory, to the disability liaison officer, to the Student Futures team (these are the guys that employ me!).

If you’re having troubles, and these are starting to affect your life more than they should be, please don’t be afraid to talk to someone. It could be your family or a friend, a favourite lecturer or tutor, or one of the counsellors here at Uni — anyone you feel comfortable having a chat with. No one is going to judge you, and most people will go out of their way to help you.

m1

m2 m3 m4 m5 m6– Emma

One thought on “MEWD: People Do Care

  1. Dear Emma,

    I read your post with great interest. I am a PhD student who, among other disabilities, lives with Anxiety and Agoraphobia. I found your post compelling and inspiring. In my research I have learned that people with depression have what is called a hidden disability.

    Your post has inspired me to write about my disabilities. So here we go …. this is for you Emma.

    I contracted Polio when I was 10 months old. My parents took me on the round of doctors seeking a cure for my polio and its effects. My parents instilled in me a basic belief in my own self worth. I new I was different and that there was a greater purpose to my life. The Polio left me with left side weakness and anxiety about my difference. I was taught right from the beginning, that I was not disabled.

    As I aged I had trouble with my balance. In my late 30’s I developed Post Polio Syndrome. This was caused by the fact that the polio had destroyed a huge number of neurones in my body. As I recovered from the polio the neurones left to me started taking responsibility for more than one muscle fibre. As I aged I lost neurones, this is a normal function of ageing but in a person with depleted reserves, it was devastating.

    In my late 50’s I suffered six strokes which left me permanently in a wheel chair. I ended up retiring from work and after a bout in a psychiatric hospital I started to come to terms with my anxiety. I learned to treat Anxiety as an object of curiosity. By this I mean, I would recognise my anxiety and be curious about its cause. Once I knew what was making me anxious I would then recognise if it were serious and start to deal with it.

    All of us need support. Even the people who are working at the cutting edge of science and researching new knowledge. At federation University I have found people to be compassionate and caring. But what struck me was the cartoons in your post about depression. Well Done you and thank you for caring.

    Peter Smith

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *