MEWD: Projects

Emma Foster - ASK Blog PicSomething that I find helps me out when battling this whole depression thing, is to have little projects to keep my hands busy.

I find that if I’m just sitting watching television, my mind still seems to be able to cloud over with worries and stresses and sad things. My (sometimes) solution to this is to add another thing into the mix to keep my feet planted in the real world.

My mother has been crafty throughout my entire life. She taught me the basics of knitting and crochet, and now I teach myself some more about them. My project at the moment is crochet. I find playing with wool and following a pattern to be quite relaxing. It requires enough thought and concentration to halt my brain from taking me places I don’t want it to, but not so much that I can’t also hold a conversation or watch some silly sitcoms.

Obviously crocheting isn’t going to be the go-to project of choice for everyone, but there are so many other things you can do to keep your mind busy, but not be overwhelmed. Did you used to be an avid drawer, but feel like you don’t have the time anymore? Try doodling while you’re watching the nightly news (or that guilty pleasure reality TV programme you love). Prefer to be outside? Plant some seeds! It’s amazing how cathartic it can be to put these tiny little things in the ground, and then watch them sprout over the next few weeks. I recommend flowers, because they’re pretty, and vegetables, because they’re edible! You can literally eat the fruits (vegetables) of your labour!

Find something that works for you, and try to do a little bit of it each day.

Side View
Side View
Front View
Front View

This is my project at the moment! If you can successfully guess what it is, then you can have it when I’m finished! Pop your guess into the comment field below and I’ll let you know if you’re right!

– Emma

2 thoughts on “MEWD: Projects

  1. Not a tea-cosy I’m afraid. But a Koala! (guessed by Catherine Elliott on the ASK at FedUni Facebook page)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *