When Life Gives You Lemons

DSC_0142Hi everyone,

So I’ve been unwell the past couple of weeks. My immune system has been pretty much non-existent and as a result I have had to put up with viruses galore. I had to take the whole of week 8 off and just spend the entire time resting in bed (I’m now dealing with a sinus infection. Le sigh). I was also feeling very stressed about all the work I had to do at uni and was starting to think that I wouldn’t be able to get through the rest of the semester. It got me thinking.

So many of us go through these stressful times. So many of us have things that interrupt our studies, whether it’s illness or a family trauma or bereavement etc., so I thought it might be good to make you aware of some of the options and support you have available to you at FedUni when you’re in this kind of situation. So when life gives you lemons, check out:

Special Consideration/Deadline Extensions

Special consideration can enable you to get an extension for your assignments, defer your exams, get grade consideration and more. Depending on your lecturer, it may also be possible to get an extension for assignments without having to go through the official process of Special Consideration. In my experience, I have found most lecturers to be quite accommodating, although it can be better to go through the official process in case any issues arise. For more information about special consideration, check out this link: http://policy.federation.edu.au/student_services_and_administration/enrolment/special_consideration/ch01.php

Reducing Your Workload

I often find myself suggesting to students who struggle with their workload to consider dropping a course. If you’re doing four courses a semester and you find yourself struggling, try dropping down to three if it’s before census date. If it’s after census date, consider dropping down to three the following semester. It can make a huge difference in the amount of pressure and stress you have by allowing you more time to be able to balance everything better. Personally, I have decided to drop down to three courses a semester so that I can balance my studies with my extra-curricular commitments. Yes, it means I’m extending the length of my degree by a semester, but it means I can enjoy my courses more and develop professionally and personally with my extra commitments like PASS, ASK, and being on the Student Senate.

Student Support Services

There are a lot of services available for you to use, from counselling, disability support, financial information and support, free health consultations, and so on. The Student Advisory Service can also support you with matters relating to complaints or grievances, appeals, legal proceedings, and more. To find out more information about any of these services, follow this link: https://federation.edu.au/current-students/assistance-support-and-services/student-support-services

I hope some of these suggestions are useful to you. Do you have any other tips for surviving uni when life gets in the way?

– Amelia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *